Never Let Me Go, directed by Mark Romanek, is based on the incredibly well-received novel by Kazuo Ishiguro, which I have never read and probably never will now that I have seen the movie (I know that’s a shit thing to say, but at least I’m honest). It’s about a Dystopian alternate reality where clones are bred in order to one day supply organ donations to the sick. So it’s sort of like Michael Bay’s The Island, if it had 100% less explosions and wasn’t directed by a hyperactive asshole.

The film follows the lives of three of the clones, from their isolated childhood in a special facility to their young adulthood (where they are played by Carey Mulligan, Keira Knightley and Andrew Garfield – all giving very good performances). There is a love triangle present, and the movie’s main dramatic thrust comes from the interplay between the three as they contemplate a rumored way to be deferred out of their eventual fate.

This is a slow burn kind of movie. It starts off sluggish, and never really picks up the pace. I’d recommend watching it on a rainy afternoon or something – it’s not really a Friday or Saturday night movie. That being said, I liked it quite a bit. I’m not sure I will ever watch it again, but I was definitely into the story while I watched it. I enjoyed how subtle the science-fiction elements were, which made the whole thing actually feel pretty plausible.

My only problem was having a hard time accepting the overall logic of how these clones are raised. I mean, let’s say you were in charge of this program, to breed clones that are solely meant to one day be walking organ farms. Why would you even bother giving them a fancy, boarding school education? Why would you later move them to a little community of cottages, and actually allow them to drive into town and interact with society? You’re essentially setting yourself up for some sort of rebellion later this way, aren’t you?

This review was originally posted on March 11th, 2011 at Trevor Likes Movies.

